Invites? We doan need no steekin’ invites.

September 11, 2005 at 6:45 am 25 comments

Ok.  So I’ve been found out!

When Matt sent me an invite to WordPress.com I was a little surprised to see that I had in fact been given 50 invites!  Yes, that’s right 50!  “Hmmm,? I thought, “that can’t be right.  I thought everyone was supposed to get only 1.?  So I went ahead and invited a friend and figured the mistake would soon get fixed.  It didn’t.

Ok.  I figured there was a reason everyone was only getting 1 and that was probably so that Matt and crew could manage the growth of the system without being inundated with tons of new users all at once.  That seemed to make sense to me and I certainly didn’t want to be responsible for bringing on too much weight.  So I kept quiet about the 49 invites I had left and figured I’d dole them out if I bumped into folks that could really use ‘em.  I added a post to my blog, in case, a reader wanted to ping me to beg for an invite and left it at that.  Since the blog was new and wasn’t getting much (any?) traffic, no one asked.

Well, then the other day, Matt mentioned that he was upping the number of invites that users had and that seemed to me to indicate that they were ready to take on more users.  All rightie then!  Time to give some away.  I left a comment to Matt’s post letting folks know that I had some to give away and sure enough I started getting some traffic and requests and I gave a bunch away to pretty much anyone who asked.  I mean, what the hell, I had 49.

10 Invites Left

Uhh.  Not anymore.  Me thinks someone on the team must have asked themselves where I was getting all the invites and slapped their foreheads when they saw I had way more than I should.  They’ve trimmed a little off the top and I’m now down to 10.

Ok.  So I now have 10 invites to give.  I think I now have more request than I have invites.  I need to get creative and that means if you want an invite you’ll need to get creative.  I’m going out of town this week for a conference so I won’t have much time to think about this but I’m back next Sunday and I’ll give away all the invites I have then.

I’ll be judging on creativity, need, chutzpah, and swim suits.  Please don’t email me.  Just post your reason for needing an invite below as a comment.  Let the world know why you can’t live without one.  Inspire us all with the ways that your blog will solve big problems like halitosis or little ones like world hunger.

In the end, we’ll laugh, we’ll cry, it’ll become a part of us.

Entry filed under: WordPress.

Icon weirdness in IE

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. redsol  |  September 11, 2005 at 8:17 am

    i have taken fancy in wp so badly that i gonna be distraught due to any effective wp service provider blocked in china’s netsphere(of course,they block mass of other famous blog providers as well indiscriminately).

    so i hope to get an effective account here because
    i like wp and i wanna speak free speech out loud.

    seriously, i’ll put some movie comments,opinion on the current affairs,and so on.

    despite any result,thanks a million all the same

    Reply
  • 2. redsol  |  September 11, 2005 at 8:19 am

    i’m outlandish foreigner and cruel sharp pagan and evil mastermind.
    is it solidly strong enough to get an invite.

    Reply
  • 3. redsol  |  September 11, 2005 at 8:28 am

    ben, for world peace’s sake,plz come back to take me into account,i need that in real earnest, otherwise nothing can stimulate me to finish my assignment of journal writing by our pious christian teacher from states.you don’t expect hatred between countries, do u?

    my lord,save me in no time

    Reply
  • 4. Ahmad Haziq  |  September 11, 2005 at 12:19 pm

    The reason I want a wordpress invitation is because I have never tried it before and want to discover more on making a blog. I have a small blog and would like to make it BIG. And why I chose wordpress is because it has more features. I can also make my site looks more beatiful. Thank you more than I can say.

    Reply
  • 5. Vicky  |  September 11, 2005 at 2:41 pm

    I need an invite because my brain will explode from nosiness and left-outness otherwise. Screenshots are not enough!! I want to know what’s going on there, to see what it’s really like…
    Also, the experience of trying to install WordPress myself on my site and import all my blogger posts over has left me grey haired and trembling. I need time out on wordpress.com to recuperate. Please…

    Reply
  • 6. Daniel "Cobalto"  |  September 11, 2005 at 3:43 pm

    I need an invite because I’m brazilian and don’t have money to buy a host for my blog… please…. please…!!!

    (Ps. PLEASEEEEE!!!!)

    Reply
  • 7. Alan  |  September 11, 2005 at 4:04 pm

    I would absolutely love to get an invite.

    #include <std.req.for.wp.com.invite.gmail.abtrikker>

    Reply
  • 8. ao  |  September 11, 2005 at 7:10 pm

    Could I get a hit of those invites? Please? I’m on my knees, here!!!

    Reply
  • 9. Kris Black  |  September 12, 2005 at 1:11 am

    I won’t beg you for an invite or say anything stupid, but if you have an extra one to spare I would love to get it. I’m leaving Blogger and looking for a new place to call home. Thanks for your time.

    Kris

    Reply
  • 10. Steve  |  September 12, 2005 at 7:26 pm

    Hi Ben,

    Well, since they are your invitations to give out on whatever ethical paradigm you see fit to engage, I can only be content in my awareness that no one is less deserving than another.

    OK, so that was my never raise the pulse above 40 beats per minute very self actualized request for a wordpress.com invitation. I would try shrieking *&%$#^$# experlatives, pouting, begging, attempts at sound rationalizing, disempowered victim status mantras, hey even shameless flirting; but law of averages multiplied by my luck, says, since I’m gay, you aren’t! That, if true could have the potential to be a problem in me seeing on the receiving end of said invitation. So I guess I’m left with…

    Ben, it would be appreciated if you would provide me with one of the invitations you are intending to generously give away. I would use it to continue blogging in the same style and tone as I have, although with a much more controlled process and outcome than has been my experience on other platforms.

    Thanks for the consideration.

    Cheers,

    Steve

    Reply
  • 11. ans  |  September 13, 2005 at 12:17 am

    Requesting an invite too! Would like to get my blog on and wordpress.com looks like the dogs balls of blogspace providers.

    Reply
  • 12. Richard  |  September 13, 2005 at 5:42 am

    Hi, Ben,
    I need one invite to open my blog on technology discussion with friends from all over the world. As you know, some blog sites are blocked at China. Hope this one works forever.

    Reply
  • 13. Chi  |  September 13, 2005 at 12:48 pm

    If you have any invites left to give away, I’d love to have one to continue my useless banter on the internet. It’ll provide me with hours of self-entertainment that I currently don’t get from MySpace. Cheers!

    Reply
  • 14. Chin Yi  |  September 13, 2005 at 1:57 pm

    I really love the design of WordPress, I even tried so many times to build my own page with WordPress, but it’s all failed, coz I’m not really good at server, DNS, hardware and so on, therefore, I still have no place to blog. If there’s a free version that I don’t need to busy with probelms like things above, I’ll be definitely appreciate it.

    Reply
  • 15. Jon  |  September 13, 2005 at 8:52 pm

    I would like an invitation to WordPress.com to generate ideas for my own site. The community built around WordPress.com is exactly the kind I would like to create, only with more features. I would eventually like to include multiple-user photo galleries and forums, and would like to incorporate these seamlessly into WPMU. By having an account on WordPress.com, I will be able to gleen from the work of others and build upon it. And all work that I do will in turn be gladly given back to the open-source software community.

    Reply
  • 16. Emily Robbins  |  September 13, 2005 at 9:30 pm

    I already have an invite, so I don’t need one of your 10.

    But I wanted to say that I think that the criteria for judging who ought to receive an invite ought best to reflect experienced bloggers who have been using WP 1.5+ etc for quite some time as these are the folks who can best give good feedback to the wordpress.com team on feature enhancements, bugs, etc., as well as some bloggers who would like to move from TypePad or Blogger and have never used WP at all before.

    WordPress.com looks to have some VERY exciting things to come down the road, but those who are so eager to get invites should realize that wordpress.com, while being much easier to use, is currently in it’s ALPHA phase (not even beta yet), and presently is much more limiting than the WP at wordpress.org.

    You currently have a very small number of themes to choose from and cannot customize them in any way.

    You also cannot install *any* plugins, so many ‘features’ (made available through the use of plugins) that many WP users have come to enjoy, such as Subscribe to Comments, Asides, Preview Comments, Sticky Posts (adhesive), etc are not *currently* available on wordpress.com (whether their functionality eventually gets incorporated directly into wordpress.com remains to be seen).

    As I write this, I realize how egotistical it sounds for me to comment at all on what Ben should use as his criteria for determining who is worthy of one of his 10 wordpress.com invites. However, I only write it with the hopes of getting the most benefit for the wordpress community in the long run. Who can provide the best feedback for the development team to help propel WP 1.6 out of alpha, into beta, and then to a final gold release that will blow all other blogging tools right out of the water.

    If you’re just looking to blog, and aren’t interested in contributing to the development of wordpress.com, I don’t think you should request an invite — you can blog using wordpress for free right now over at blogsome.com.

    There should be a reason why those invites are so precious right now. I hope those who request and get invites will keep this in mind and use them not only to blog, but also to provide invaluable feedback to the wordpress.com development team in the form of reporting bugs/glitches, enhancement requests, etc.

    Just my 2 cents..and congrats on having 10 invites to give away!

    Reply
  • 17. Aref  |  September 14, 2005 at 1:55 pm

    Hi,
    I need an invitation so that i can set up my new CI podcast service : it will be the first of all 😉
    thanks

    Reply
  • 18. Jan  |  September 15, 2005 at 11:28 am

    As I write this, I realize how egotistical it sounds for me to comment at all on what Ben should use as his criteria for determining who is worthy of one of his 10 wordpress.com invites. However, I only write it with the hopes of getting the most benefit for the wordpress community in the long run.

    Well, you may think it sounds selfish, but I for one agree with you. WordPress MU still needs development, and the best input will come from experienced bloggers who have come to know the (SU-)software in and out, and therefore quickly see what may still be improved in MU. So, I agree.

    Reply
  • 19. ahmad  |  September 22, 2005 at 12:30 pm

    Thanks for the invite Ben. I really appreciate it. 🙂

    Reply
  • […] I finally snagged a WordPress.com invite, courtesy of the ever-so-generous Ben Riga. I’ve done quite a bit with my regular site using WordPress and have been keeping up with the WP 1.6 testing phase using XAMPP on my Mac laptop, so it was with a good bit of excitement that I decided to pursue a WP.com blog. While my other various and sundry blogs have primarily been general-purpose blogs, fit for catching the nifty links and commentary I come across in my ‘Net traversals, I’ve every intention of making this one a single-purpose blog. This one should be an outlet for a bit of “creative writing” on my part, as the title should indicate. We’ll see how the experiment works out. […]

    Reply
  • 21. Doug  |  September 22, 2005 at 1:31 pm

    Ben, thanks a million.

    Reply
  • 22. redsol  |  September 23, 2005 at 3:21 pm

    god bless u, thank u a trillion

    Reply
  • 23. Marcel  |  September 28, 2005 at 11:47 pm

    I have always been really interested in blogging, and I would like to start my own personal blog, and I figure why not start with the best, wordpress! So, if you would be soooo kind I would love!!!! An invite! Thank you!

    -Marcel

    Reply
  • 24. Daniel  |  October 5, 2005 at 5:19 pm

    Thanks a lot…
    Visit my NEW blog… cobline.wordpress.com (in Portuguese)

    Reply
  • 25. myscribbles  |  April 19, 2006 at 6:06 pm

    I know I may seem a litlte too dumb, but this is my first time using WordPress: What are invites? What good they are? Do I need to have one?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2005
M T W T F S S
« Aug    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


